As DUI attorneys in Las Vegas, we know something about the ramifications of drinking and driving in our city. The penalties for drinking and driving in Nevada, as in most states in the U.S., can be quite severe. A good DUI attorney in Las Vegas can help you navigate the court system, and work to lessen the charges should you find yourself in this situation.

In this article we’ll walk you through the kinds of penalties you might receive should you be pulled over for a DUI in Las Vegas or anywhere in Nevada. If you have any questions about DUI in Las Vegas, consult our experienced legal team.

Legal Penalties for DUI in Las Vegas

Las Vegas is a fun city, and people come here from all over the world to experience it. Our best advice for a fun weekend in Las Vegas is always to call a cab or ride share if you’ve been drinking. The legal penalties are simply too much to gamble with, not to mention the danger you pose to others by driving while impaired. Here are the current penalties you will face if you drink and drive in Las Vegas today:

  • First-time penalties for DUI in Las Vegas are considered a criminal misdemeanor. You could serve anywhere from two days to six months in jail. You’ll also probably pay a fine of up to $1,000 plus court costs, and face other penalties. A DUI attorney in Las Vegas may be able to negotiate community service and suspended jail time. Your license may be suspended or other penalties could apply. If you have another DUI within seven years the penalties get much stiffer.
  • If you have a second DUI you will be charged with a misdemeanor andspend a minimum of 10 days and up to six months in jail. An attorney may negotiate this to house arrest. Fines could range up to $1,000 or higher, or require you to complete community service. You will likely have to attend educational lectures on the perils of drinking and driving and have your license revoked for a year.
  • Your third DUI in seven years becomes even more serious in the eyes of the law. You will be charged with a Category B felony and go to prison for one to six years. Your fines will range from $2,000 to $5,000. You will also have your licensed suspended for three years.

Other issues that could affect your sentencing include how high your blood alcohol level was or if you injured someone – or worse.

Call Thunder Law – Las Vegas DUI Lawyers

While the justice system is full of regulations and penalties, an experienced attorney will be able to recognize whether you have any legal defenses to the charges against you. The legal team at our office has helped hundreds of people muster a defense to help lessen the penalties of DUI in Las Vegas. Negotiating resolutions to keep you out of jail isn’t a guarantee – but we believe we can help. If you or a family member has had a DUI in Las Vegas, contact us for help.